Inspiring book exploring a Froebelian approach to storytelling wins a Nursery World Award.

We're delighted to share the news that Putting Storytelling at the Heart of Early Childhood Practice was named the best professional book of the year at the Nursery World Awards 2021 held in London on 25 September.

The bestselling book, published by Routledge, edited by Tina Bruce, Lynn McNair and Jane Whinnett, features research and contributions from many Froebelian colleagues.

The book features research and contributions from members of the Edinburgh Froebel Network. A Froebel Trust grant helped the team to do the research and develop the book. They are: Jane Whinnett, Sharon Imray and Karen Clements, Chris McCormick and Sharon McIntosh, Alison Hawkins and Moira Whitelaw, Rhian Ferguson, Lynda Bardai, Deidre Armstrong, Elaine Fullerton, Lucy Macfarlane and Rosemary Welensky, Lynn McNair, Catriona Gill, Tina Bruce.

Putting Storytelling at the Heart of Early Childhood Practice is a brilliantly engaging and practical book that highlights the essential nature of storytelling in all walks of life, and how to best cultivate this in the early years classroom.

The authors use a compelling Froebelian approach to explore the role of storytelling not just in the development of literacy but also in the development of communication and language and for maintaining good mental health and wellbeing.

Drawing on primary and contemporary research, and presented by a range of experienced authors, this book covers important topics such as:

  • The benefits of regularly practising storytelling
  • Storytelling during play activities
  • Group dynamics in constructing narratives
  • The roles of props and fantasy concepts in storytelling

This accessible guide is ideal for all early years practitioners looking to encourage literacy, communication and well-being in a supportive and creative environment, and for policymakers looking to develop best practice in the early years classroom.

Storytelling book cover
Nursery World Award 2021 : Winner of the professional book award